Reading Goals for 2023

What books do you want to read?

In 2022, I read a little over 200 books. According to Goodreads.com, the longest book I read was Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin, and the shortest was The Coach by Cassie Mint. What Goodreads doesn’t tell you is what the longest series in your reading list is. For me, the longest series I read in 2022 was One Piece by Eiichiro Oda with over 104 volumes. And surprisingly enough, One Piece is still an ongoing series.

But One Piece is not what I am here to discuss. What I am here to discuss is what my reading goals are for this year.

My goal this year is the same as it has been for years: to read more. However, as 2022 was coming to a close, I realized that my reading list did not have any variety. The majority of the things I read included manga, bad smut, and whatever was required of me at my local college.

But this year will be different—or at least I think it will be.

I have books collecting dust in my bedroom. A lot of these books have gone untouched for years and some have not been read at all. This year, I will finally open those I have not read. I also plan to reread books that I have already read. After all, what is the point of buying hard copies of books if not to read them?

So, these are my goals for the year:

  • Read at least three books from my collection that I have not read yet
  • Read new books from the following genres: romance, fantasy, adventure, historical fiction, nonfiction, and horror
  • Reread at least two books from my collection
  • Reread at least 2 manga series (Chainsaw Man by Tatsuki Fujimoto and Naruto by Masashi Kishimoto)

I do not have a clear number on how many new books I would like to read this year.

My reading list never seems to shorten.

When it comes to manga, I have Berserk by Kentaro Miura (and now Kouji Mori), One Piece by Eiichiro Oda, Kaiju No. 8 by Naoya Matsumoto, Fire Force by Atsushi Ohkubo, and JoJo’s Bizarre Adventures by Hirohiko Ohkubo in my “currently reading” list.

Currently, Berserk, Kaiju No. 8, and One Piece are yet to finish, so the publishing schedule for each chapter makes it easier for me to read other works. As soon as I finish reading Fire Force, I would like to start reading Soul Eater, which is also written and illustrated by Atsushi Ohkubo.

Other manga series that I am interested in reading this year are: Blade of the Immortal by Hiroaki Samura, Chrono Crusade by Daisuke Moriyama, and Dorohedoro by Q. Hayashida. I do not know if I will be able to read all of these, but I am willing to try!

In all, I am going to be very busy. This year I have set my reading goal to 100 books on Goodreads. Whether I accomplish this goal or not will depend on how much time I set aside for these books.

Leave a comment