Revisiting the Shinobi World: Kaguya Ōtsutsuki Strikes Arc + Finale

The final arc of the Naruto series continues with the emergence of Kaguya Ōtsutsuki. As the battle rages on, Sasuke’s cold remarks make Sakura feel uneasy about herself and Sasuke.

Later, the team successfully defeats Kaguya; however, the alliance with Sasuke turns sour when Naruto and Sasuke decide to settle their dispute with another match. This one ends with Naruto finally getting through to Sasuke.

In the final chapters of Naruto, Sasuke departs Konohagakure to begin a journey to redeem himself. The finale suggests that he and Team 7 are on good terms. The final chapter of the series reveals the next generation of shinobi, namely, the children of Naruto and his comrades. He has married Hinata Hyūga and Sasuke has married Sakura.

Kaguya Ōtsutsuki Strikes Arc

The Kaguya Ōtsutsuki Strikes Arc consists of volumes 70 to 72, or chapters 678 to 700.

Review

I give this arc a 4 out of 5 star rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

The final arc of the series was full of non-stop action and heart-wrenching moments that made me feel for the characters, even those that I had little interest in.

The Characters

Kaguya is one character that I didn’t care much for when I first read the series. After my second read-through, I realize that she would have made a better antagonist if she was saved for a spin-off, or if she was introduced as a potential threat. Knowing that she feels regret for introducing Chakra to humanity makes me wish that Kishimoto made a spin-off series of her and/or Hagoromo instead of making her an antagonist in Naruto. She and her sons are interesting on their own and forcing their powers on to characters like Naruto and Sasuke makes the power imbalances even greater.

Vol. 71, Ch. 681

Sasuke continues to be one of the more interesting characters of the series. He’s still distancing himself from Team 7, though sticking by Naruto as he still disregards the abilities of his former master Kakashi, and Sakura. It becomes clear before the finale that he attempts to keep a distance from them because of his wavering resolve to sever his ties with Team 7. This complicates the friendship he has with Naruto, which has been obvious since the Five Kage Summit Arc, and with Sakura, whom he deliberately makes backhanded comments of.

Vol. 71, Ch. 680

And I’d say that making him this distant was a great call by Kishimoto because he thinks that he can’t be, or shouldn’t be, forgiven for his actions. This is evident by his journey of atonement, which is something he chooses to do on his own. Despite wanting to be in the same metaphorical light that his former comrades are under, he tries to push them back. Sasuke rejects love because he can’t truly forgive himself and because he thinks he doesn’t deserve it. It’s an interesting display of his anger and depression. 

With that being said, it’s a shame that Sasuke’s character development doesn’t happen until after his battle with Naruto. He’s narrow-minded; it seems as though Sasuke believes that only he and his brother have suffered. This aspect of Sasuke’s character is the most frustrating because of the world that he lives in. He knows that ninjas go through things that could be unjustifiable. However, he chooses his selfish goals and refuses to make an attempt to understand everyone else who is trying to help him. And although I say all of this, I don’t know if I wanted something different out of Sasuke because it’s all this that makes the series interesting to me.

Naruto‘s emotional maturity is something that has always piqued my interest. When Sasuke implies that Sakura and Kakashi are unneeded in their battle against Kaguya, Naruto tries to ease the sting of Sasuke’s words by suggesting that he protected Sakura and Kakashi without thinking. Sakura thanks Naruto in her thoughts, though she comes to terms with Sasuke’s harsh words. Naruto is the kind of character who thinks of others before himself. His selflessness is constantly displayed in the series, but I haven’t noticed enough fans talking about how he tries to protect people from being emotionally hurt. In my previous posts, I have mentioned that there are several things about his character that I dislike, but Naruto’s empathy is something that I truly like.

Obito isn’t a character that I necessarily liked, but I do like the final chapters that he was in. It’s a shame that he couldn’t take a similar path of atonement that Sasuke took by the end of the series. However, given his crimes, I imagine that most village leaders, if not all, wouldn’t have allowed him to live. I don’t know if I could say that he was a completely redeemable character. He caused a war due to a misunderstanding and due to Madara’s manipulation.

Vol. 71, Ch. 684

Kakashi had a big role to play towards the end of the arc. I’m glad that I got to see him at his fullest potential again before the series finale. His final moments with Obito were bitter-sweet. One thing I didn’t like is how brushed off he was in the beginning of this arc.

Madara and Hashirama were interesting characters. While I don’t like their inclusion to the series, or rather how they were included, I do appreciate their final moments together. Madara muses about being unable to change anything in the world, but Hashirama insists that it was more important to secure a future for the next generations.

My thoughts on other things

Naruto vs Sasuke: a waste of time

Kishimoto built up to Naruto and Sasuke’s rematch, but in my opinion, it pales in comparison to the Kaguya battle. There’s no good reason to have a match between the two at all. Throughout the fight, Sasuke realizes how similar he and Naruto are and how inescapable their friendship is. So, what did the fight show other than Sasuke’s stubbornness? In my opinion, nothing.

Vol. 72, Ch. 697

Sasuke was easily forgiven by Team 7

I don’t expect Naruto or anyone to hold on to grudges, but I do think that Sakura let Sasuke off easily. I get that she was desperate to have him back on their side, but the man tried killing her out of anger that wasn’t directed at her in the first place.

A rushed ending? Seems like it…

After Naruto and Sasuke’s battle, the rest of the story just cycles through. I don’t expect a slice-of-life approach to the finale, but it would have been interesting to see how the Gokage and the rest of Konohagakure responded to Sasuke’s return. So many lives were lost to the Akatsuki and so many others were put at risk because of Sasuke’s negligence. Again, Sasuke was too easily forgiven.

Final thoughts

When I first read the series, I overlooked many flaws and enjoyed it. My second read-through has left me feeling the same despite my numerous complaints in my previous arc reviews. Masashi Kishimoto delivered a unique story about revenge, friendship, and forgiveness. I’m excited to see where the Boruto series goes and if it differs from the Naruto series.

Leave a comment